COP welcomes four new faculty

Meet the Professors

The fall semester has officially begun and, along with welcoming our new students, College of the Pacific is happy to welcome four new faculty members. Several have moved from out-of-state to join the Pacific family.

Be sure to say hello when you see them on campus!

Karrigan Bork, Environmental Sciences 

Hometown:  Lawrence, KS

What are your research interests? 

Environmental law, water law, endangered species, and conservation biology

Why should someone take your class? 
I teach Environmental Law in the law school and in the Environmental Studies Program, and I’ll be teaching the Environmental Science Capstone Seminar in the spring. In environmental studies, we study the ways that society is trying to protect our health and the health of the natural environment, so it’s a subject that impacts everyone in myriad ways. Particularly in a state like California, understanding our system of environmental laws is a core part of being a responsible citizen. And environmental studies is a field with great job prospects!

Why are you happy to be at Pacific?

I’m thrilled to be teaching these important courses and working on tough environmental problems at Pacific. I’m excited about the great and engaged students and faculty, the University’s dedication to environmental issues, and our location in the heart of the Central Valley.

Anything else you’d like us to know about you?
I love getting outdoors with my family, for fishing, rafting, or just exploring!


Melissa Davies, Health, Exercise, & Sport Sciences

melissaHometown: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

What are your research interests?
My research is focused on participant and consumer motivation within sport.

Why should someone take your class?
Students should take my classes to think and engage with sport from a business perspective. We use current-events every class to apply theory to practice within the sport industry.

Why are you happy to be at Pacific?

I’m happy to be at Pacific because I feel like the campus is a great place for both students and faculty to learn and grow. I look forward to being a part of cultivating Pacific’s Sport Management program into a destination program in Northern California.

Anything else you’d like us to know about you?

Some of my hobbies include golf, hiking, photography, and road trips. .

 

 


Manizha Sharifova, Economics

sharifovaHometown: I am originally from Tajikistan – a small country in Central Asia with the breathtaking mountain nature

What are your research interests?
My research interests mainly focus on international finance, macroeconomics, and financial econometrics.

Why should someone take your class?
To me, economics is not simply a field of study it is a way to live your life. Open an economics book and your very foundation and view of life will change forever. Needles to say, understanding economics is essential to making daily decisions and grasping ongoing policy debates. I hope that the enthusiasm I have for economics comes through to my students. As such, I strive to make my teaching enjoyable by challenging my students and have them challenge me

Why are you happy to be at Pacific?
University of the Pacific provides a safe, fostering and challenging environment in which students can succeed and be better than they ever imagined. I am extremely delighted that I can be a part of that process.

Anything else you’d like us to know about you?

I enjoy music, reading mysteries, being outdoors and traveling the world.


Zachary Stahlschmidt, Biology

Zach1Hometown: Gilman, IL

What are your research interests?
Behavioral and physiological ecology

Why should someone take your class?
To foster critical thinking skills while learning how organisms work and interact with their environments.

Why are you happy to be at Pacific?

It has high academic standards and will allow me to grow as a teacher-scholar.

Anything else you’d like us to know about you?

I’m a father to Fern, my toddler daughter.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

