Putting economic development into practice in D.C.

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 10.17.24 AM

Name: Kyle L. Capuli

Major: Economics

Hometown: San Francisco, California

As an Intern at Nathan Associates, I have gained exposure to the fields of Infrastructure Planning and International Development. Through the first eight weeks of the internship, I have primarily worked on a project centered on the Jamaica Logistics Hub Initiative.

My tasks include gathering data from online databases and using Microsoft Excel to draw conclusions from the data. Specifically, I have been collecting data regarding global trade flows, and have utilized Microsoft Excel to identify which countries often trade with one another. Furthermore, I have helped to identify the top commodities that are traded between countries.

Aside from the logistics project, I have had the opportunity to work on a variety of other projects and proposals. I recently drafted an “About the Portal” section for the Haiti Trade Information Portal and conducted research regarding air trade between Asia and Latin America. I feel that this internship experience has allowed me to develop skills in both data analysis and research.

My educational experience at the University of the Pacific prepared me for this internship by giving me the opportunity to take courses with an international focus. For example, in my Economic Development course, we learned about various theories of International Development. The themes presented in that course sparked my interest in Economic Development, and have allowed me to comprehend many of the articles I come across while conducting research. I also had the opportunity to take courses focused on data analysis. Empirical Methods, another one of my favorite courses, gave me the opportunity to work with economic data. I learned how to gather data from online databases, analyze data in Microsoft Excel, and draw conclusions from the data. I use many of the technical skills I learned in Empirical Methods on a daily basis at Nathan Associates.

Living in Washington DC has been great! I live at American University and use the Washington Metro rapid transit system to travel around the city. A couple of my friends have visited me this summer, and together we have gone to museums and historical landmarks. Some of the places I have visited include the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Memorial, the United States Capitol, the Air and Space Museum, the Museum of Natural History, and the Museum of American History.

On July 4th, I attended a Major League Baseball Game at Nationals Park between the Milwaukee Brewers and Washington Nationals. Both starting pitchers, Junior Guerra of the Brewers and Max Scherzer of the Nationals, pitched well and the Brewers won 1-0. After the game, I was able to watch fireworks presented by the National Park Service.

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 10.18.22 AM

Overall, I am deeply grateful for this internship opportunity and would like to thank Dr. John Beyer and the Department of Economics at the University of the Pacific. It has been rewarding to see how the skills I learned in college can be applied to real-world scenarios. While I am not sure what type of career I want to pursue, I am interested in the fields of consulting and data analytics. This internship has prepared me for my career by allowing me to see the work of economic consultants and by allowing me to work with data sets.

Leave a Reply

