Identifying a healthy economy at Nathan Associates, Inc.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 9.53.29 AMName: Austin Weatherholt

Hometown: San Jose, California

Major: Biology

Minor: Economics

It has been 7 weeks since I arrived in Washington, DC and I can truly say that this experience has been life changing. Nathan Associates Inc. is an amazing firm with deep roots in litigation, infrastructure (Ports, roads, railways, etc.) and international development. I have been tasked with projects on the infrastructure and international development side of the company. The main project I have collaborated on is called Healthy Women, Healthy Economy where I have extensively researched topics to find indicators and impact studies that allow us to quantify the cost of unhealthy women to APEC economies. With these indicators, I have been further tasked to link them with arguments to help build the body of the report. I have also been involved in the writing of reports including one about the Port of Nacala, Mozambique and its relation to inland transportation in both Mozambique and Malawi. Through these 7 weeks I have developed my skills in research [data searching techniques and methods of extracting relevant information from dense reports], analytics [analyzing constructible arguments given the data, analyzing data in order to make conclusions, and some data analytics], excel [pivot tables, sorting, formatting], and teamwork [relaying information to group members, and having constructive conversation about the path of a project]. I have met many great people at Nathan Associates Inc. and have had the opportunity to ask many questions about their path to this firm. Their insight has given me a greater understanding of consulting as a profession and the process in which one works their way up to more prominent positions. This experience has opened my eyes to the world of consulting and has given examples of the endless opportunities in the economics field.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 9.54.11 AMDr. Beyer, the sponsor of this amazing internship and a Pacific alumnus, has put a lot of time into giving me the opportunity to attend different economic club meetings and giving backstory on his experiences in traveling the world as an economist. He is a very down to earth individual and a great representation of the legacy of University of the Pacific.

I am living at the Sigma Chi house on the campus of The George Washington University, a mere 5 minute walk to the Lincoln memorial and only minutes more to a plethora of memorials and museums. I personally love history and nature and have found that DC is a perfect blend of the two. The Smithsonian museums and the National Archive hold the legacy of America’s past, allowing me to see through the lenses of many great Americans. There are many parks in the area, the pinnacle of which is the National Mall which houses the beautiful Lincoln Memorial and the Washington monument. On top of all this beauty, the people I have met here are all great, and I have made connections I will keep for the rest of my life. This has  been my first time staying on the east coast for an extended period of time and through my travels to other states like Florida, I have come to realize that the culture is different than the west coast. This uniqueness is built on historical tradition, importance of politics (talk about it all the time) and cities of easily accessible entertainment.  This experience has opened my eyes to a new way of living, an experience I will hold dear for the rest of my life.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 9.54.41 AM

Leave a Reply

