One for the records

Myra Lakdawala set a new record for her home country of Pakistan as she crossed the finish line at the Johnny Mathis Invitational in San Francisco. We recently sat down with Myra to find out more about she balances herĀ academic and athletic careers.

Name: Myra Nur Lakdawala

Major: Double major in English and Philosophy, with double minors in Pre-Law and Ethnic Studies

Hometown: Karachi, Pakistan

Q: What other activities are you involved in on-campus?

A: The Philosophy Honor Society
The English Honor Society

Q: How many records have you broken during your track and field career?

A: In addition to breaking the Pakistani Women’s National record for the 5000m this year, I also broke the Pakistani Women’s National 3000m record when I was in high school.

Q: How has your time at Pacific prepared you for this experience?

A: It has shown me that breaking the record isn’t an experience I share alone. It is not only my accomplishment, it is an achievement for my family, Ismailis (my community), my coaches, my team and Pacific as a whole, because if it wasn’t for each of these aspects in my life, I wouldn’t be who I am today.

Q: After breaking your latest record, what do you plan to do next?

A: I hope I finish the season strong. And lower the 3000m record.

Q: How do you balance your athletic career with your education at Pacific?

A: You just have to learn to be a good juggler.

Q: What are your plans for after graduation?

A: Hopefully law school!

Leave a Reply

